Operations


The options on this page affect the way file operations are executed.

 

 

Keep at least one instance (and remove it from the list):

Check this option to insure that at least one instance of a file will remain on disk. It means that if you mark all files in a set and try to delete them, the last remaining instance will not be deleted but simply removed from the list.

It also means that if you mark all files in a set but one, then the remaining file will be removed from the list. That's logical, since it is no longer a duplicate file.

 

Experiment with this option by copying a folder into two temporary folders, and search them for duplicates.  Try to Mark all, and delete, to see how this works.

Delete files to Recycle bin (safer, but slower):

Check here if you want AcuteFinder to use the Recycle bin when deleting files.  It means that you can recover the file if you change your mind.  The settings of the Recycle bin and number and size of files that you delete on your computer, affect when the file will be permanently erased.  This setting is highly recommended, but it also means that the disk space taken by the file will not be recovered right away.  Should you need this space immediately, then you can right-click on its icon on the desktop and select "Empty Recycle bin".  Please note, that using the Recycle bin may slow considerably down the process of deleting many files.  So, this option is between speed and security.

 

Remove folders/archives that become empty after delete/move of files:

Select this option if you want AcuteFinder to automatically remove all folders that become empty due to your actions, when you decide to delete or move files.

 

Use advanced sort on secondary column (better, but slower):

This option allows you to choose between speed and presentation quality. If checked, then Set id and instance number will be used for secondary sort order  for most columns.  Also, file names and paths will sort more logically.

 

Use internal viewer to open ZIP-files:

When a ZIP-file is opened, an internal viewer will be used if this option is selected.  Otherwise, the ZIP-file will be opened either by the helper program you specified for ZIP-files or by using the default ZIP-handing applications as registered by Windows.

 

Show total disk space reclaimed during the session (on exit):

By checking this option, you will be informed on how much disk space you reclaimed by deleting files during each session. When you exit AcuteFinder you will see a pop up dialog showing the total disk space saved.  Quite interesting!